Big Problems with the SAY command

Post Reply
User avatar
piquadratpi2
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 5:31 am

Big Problems with the SAY command

Post by piquadratpi2 »

Hi, I hope I didn't nerve here anybody too much, but I started with smart BASIC and found the SAY command. I didn't manage to say more than one text.

Here is a short demo:

SAY VOICE "DE"

TEXT CLEAR

t1$="Hallo Peter"
t2$="wie geht es Dir"
PRINT t1$

SAY VOLUME 0.8
SAY TEXT t1$

PAUSE 1

SAY VOLUME 1

SAY TEXT t2$

The string inside t1$ is printed then spoken, but then all stops. And t2$ never is heard. Must I add something or is everything wrong here? Please try to help me. Many thanks in advance...

User avatar
Mr. Kibernetik
Site Admin
Posts: 4782
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
Location: Russia
Flag: Russia

Re: Big Problems with the SAY command

Post by Mr. Kibernetik »

The program must be running to execute those commands which require some time for their execution.
As SAY TEXT command requires some time to pronounce the text, the program must continue to run when the text is pronouncing.

Compare these two programs:

Code: Select all

say text "hello"

Code: Select all

say text "hello"
1 goto 1

User avatar
piquadratpi2
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 5:31 am

Re: Big Problems with the SAY command

Post by piquadratpi2 »

Great. Finally I understand it. Using a PAUSE 2 after the SAY text solves my problem.
Many thanks for your fast help,

Peter

Post Reply