Page 1 of 1
How best to deal with unknown data size with an Array or Data command
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 1:44 pm
by highfell
Hi all
Just seen this App in the store and purchased it with much enthusiasm.
I am looking to create a program that is a cross between a project management/to do program.
In setting up the program, one of the initial challenges is how to deal with an unknown maximum amount of data. Can I program some kind of dynamic Array command or Data command to deal with adding new information? Or am I best to create for example an Array to begin with using the DIM command like this DIM Array (10000,10000,10000) - on the basis that the users won't ever input more than 10,000 say items.
Thanks for any advice.
Re: How best to deal with unknown data size with an Array or Data command
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 7:48 pm
by rbytes
Smart BASIC allows for dimensioning arrays using variables. You could start by dimensioning your arrays as small as (1000, 1000, 1000), and redimensioning them larger when critical values reach a certain point. Redimensioning would clear all data in the array, but this would not be a problem if you are doing regular saves to data files. Your code could do a save before the redimensioning, and a load afterward.
Re: How best to deal with unknown data size with an Array or Data command
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:54 pm
by highfell
Many Thanks. So that would resolve my issue, if needed.
I am just re-acquainting myself with basic after many years, so expect some noobish questions .....
Sometimes it is easier to ask rather than spend days puzzling what the issue is.
Re: How best to deal with unknown data size with an Array or Data command
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:03 pm
by rbytes
I know what you mean. I had done a fair bit of previous programming when I discovered smart BASIC almost two years ago, but I had to learn from the ground up. I think my first program had 10 lines of code!
Re: How best to deal with unknown data size with an Array or Data command
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 6:52 am
by Henko
highfell wrote:Hi all
Just seen this App in the store and purchased it with much enthusiasm.
I am looking to create a program that is a cross between a project management/to do program.
In setting up the program, one of the initial challenges is how to deal with an unknown maximum amount of data. Can I program some kind of dynamic Array command or Data command to deal with adding new information? Or am I best to create for example an Array to begin with using the DIM command like this DIM Array (10000,10000,10000) - on the basis that the users won't ever input more than 10,000 say items.
Thanks for any advice.
I started a project management program in 2014, but did not finish it. Maybe the GUI is of interest for you. The program is somewhere in the program section.
- image.png (369.87 KiB) Viewed 2017 times
Re: How best to deal with unknown data size with an Array or Data command
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:39 pm
by highfell
Henko wrote:highfell wrote:Hi all
Just seen this App in the store and purchased it with much enthusiasm.
I am looking to create a program that is a cross between a project management/to do program.
In setting up the program, one of the initial challenges is how to deal with an unknown maximum amount of data. Can I program some kind of dynamic Array command or Data command to deal with adding new information? Or am I best to create for example an Array to begin with using the DIM command like this DIM Array (10000,10000,10000) - on the basis that the users won't ever input more than 10,000 say items.
Thanks for any advice.
I started a project management program in 2014, but did not finish it. Maybe the GUI is of interest for you. The program is somewhere in the program section. More to follow once I make some progress or need some more help
image.png
Thanks for this, very kind of you. I have though already decided on the concept of the program which is slightly different from the norm, and won't fit with your design.