telnet

Post Reply
sabceo
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:47 am
Flag: United States of America

telnet

Post by sabceo »

Is Smart Basic able to establish a connection using the telnet protocol? Thanks

User avatar
Mr. Kibernetik
Site Admin
Posts: 4786
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
Location: Russia
Flag: Russia

Re: telnet

Post by Mr. Kibernetik »

This is the list of network functions of BASIC:

http://kibernetik.pro/BASIC_manual/en.p ... d/Net.html

sabceo
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:47 am
Flag: United States of America

Re: telnet

Post by sabceo »

I have tried all the SmartBasic network commands and cannot establish a connection to a remote device that transmits ascii characters using the telnet protocol. I have two questions:

1) Am I missing an existing network command that will do this?
2) If not, is there a library that can be imported into SmartBasic that will perform this function?

The following may help clarify my questions. I am trying to develop an iOS program to analyze and graph data received from a remote sensing device. If there is a way to get the data from the remote device into the SmartBasic program, SmartBasic has all the features required to develop the program.

I have successfully developed a Windows program with VB.net using the ‘Imports System.Net.Sockets’ Library and the commands ‘Dim tcpClient As New System.Net.Sockets.TcpClient’ and ‘tcpClient.Connect(“192.168.0.17”, 700) to establish the telnet connection to the remote device.

I would appreciate any help getting me pointed in the right direction. Thanks.

User avatar
Mr. Kibernetik
Site Admin
Posts: 4786
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
Location: Russia
Flag: Russia

Re: telnet

Post by Mr. Kibernetik »

No, smart BASIC does not import any external libraries.
And smart BASIC network functions are quite limited, for example there are no sockets here.

But, anyway, smart BASIC functions allow to download any file from the network. So, if your external data are saved to some file then you can easily download them and process in smart BASIC.

Post Reply