How does one write <1000?

Post Reply
Constable
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:32 pm

How does one write <1000?

Post by Constable »

Hi,
I'm new at this and for my first program I'm trying to write a password creator. All is going well except I can't seem to figure out how to code this: If C$ is less than 1,000 goto line 40.

Also to the dev-this is a great app and a very helpful learning tool...but could you maybe write a more detailed help section or even better a tutorial for beginners like me who are very dedicated to learning programming but have literatly 0% experience in coding. A lot of it seems way above my head.

Dalede
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:00 pm
Location: Grass Valley, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: How does one write <1000?

Post by Dalede »

Leave out the commas. It is a number, not a string.

If C$ < 1000 then goto 40

read the manual which is the little share symbol at the top of the editing page. It can also be downloaded from this site. There are many beginning books available on Basic. This one conforms fairly well to the ECMA standard for basic functionality (pun intended) which will get you started. The ECMA manual is also downloadable from this site.

I suggest you study the examples that are included with the product.

Dale

User avatar
Mr. Kibernetik
Site Admin
Posts: 4786
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
Location: Russia
Flag: Russia

Re: How does one write <1000?

Post by Mr. Kibernetik »

Welcome to Forum!

Yes, you are right - writing an expanded tutorial will be a good compliment to smart BASIC programming tool.
It is planned to be made in future.

About your question,
C$ is a string because of "$" sign at the end, and 1000 is a number. Strictly speaking, you cannot compare string and number. But you can compare two numbers, for example

Code: Select all

IF C < 1000 THEN GOTO 40

Constable
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: How does one write <1000?

Post by Constable »

Hi,

Thanks Dalede for the resources, I'll be sure too look for that.

And Mr.Kibernetik-Thanks for explaining it was a string, here I have been using the "$" for all variables haha.
I'm looking forward too a tutorial section!!!!

Post Reply