I'm stumped.
- sarossell
- Posts: 195
- Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:31 pm
- My devices: iPad Mini 2, iPhone 5, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
- Flag:
- Contact:
I'm stumped.
I've read and re-read the instructions for Adding smart BASIC to Xcode and have attempted to build the turtle example three times now from scratch and have had no luck. I have tried renaming the libSB-dev/sim files to libSB.a and even tried just using the existing libSB.a file. Still, no luck. I have read through the forums completely at least twice for a solution but I still cannot get past this error:
ld: warning: ignoring file /Users/SAR/Workarea2/Turtle/libSB.a, file was built for archive which is not the architecture being linked (i386): /Users/SAR/Workarea2/Turtle/libSB.a
I've tried using the clean function between attempts or just started all over again with new files. I've deleted all files from the derived data folder in /Users/SAR/Library/Developer/Xcode/DerivedData/and then started over again.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm running Xcode 8.1 (8B62) in macOS Sierra on a mid-2011 MacBook Air.
I DO NOT have an Apple developer's license yet, but I was under the impression I could build apps for the simulator.
Thank you. {:@)
smart BASIC Rocks!
ld: warning: ignoring file /Users/SAR/Workarea2/Turtle/libSB.a, file was built for archive which is not the architecture being linked (i386): /Users/SAR/Workarea2/Turtle/libSB.a
I've tried using the clean function between attempts or just started all over again with new files. I've deleted all files from the derived data folder in /Users/SAR/Library/Developer/Xcode/DerivedData/and then started over again.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm running Xcode 8.1 (8B62) in macOS Sierra on a mid-2011 MacBook Air.
I DO NOT have an Apple developer's license yet, but I was under the impression I could build apps for the simulator.
Thank you. {:@)
smart BASIC Rocks!
Last edited by sarossell on Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:40 am, edited 2 times in total.
smart BASIC Rocks!
- Scott : San Diego, California
- Scott : San Diego, California
- Mr. Kibernetik
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4786
- Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
- My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
- Location: Russia
- Flag:
Re: I'm stumped.
Thank you very much for your report!
You are right, libraries were incorrect.
Now they are updated, please re-download the SDK.
You are right, libraries were incorrect.
Now they are updated, please re-download the SDK.
- sarossell
- Posts: 195
- Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:31 pm
- My devices: iPad Mini 2, iPhone 5, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
- Flag:
- Contact:
Re: I'm stumped.
Thanks you SO very much for such a quick response and update. Sadly, after using the new downloaded BASIC SDK template, I'm still seeing an error. Please see image.
smart BASIC Rocks!
- Scott : San Diego, California
- Scott : San Diego, California
- Mr. Kibernetik
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4786
- Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
- My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
- Location: Russia
- Flag:
Re: I'm stumped.
Not sure what it can be.
Please try to set General > Identity > Team = "None" as on this screenshot.
Please try to set General > Identity > Team = "None" as on this screenshot.
- Mr. Kibernetik
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4786
- Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
- My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
- Location: Russia
- Flag:
Re: I'm stumped.
Also try to set Build Settings > Code Signing = "Don't Code Sign" as on this screenshot:
- sarossell
- Posts: 195
- Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:31 pm
- My devices: iPad Mini 2, iPhone 5, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
- Flag:
- Contact:
Re: I'm stumped.
Again, than you for a quick response. I tried both suggestions, but they did not resolve the issue. However, I did find a solution. Apparently, Xcode 8 and macOS Sierra have been security "hardened". This article explains it: https://developer.apple.com/library/con ... index.html
I used the xattr -cr command as suggested, and the build finally succeeded. I have no idea how to prevent this from being an issue in the future, but I suspect you might.
Now, I just have to figure out how to run it in the iPhone 5 simulator.... :@(
I used the xattr -cr command as suggested, and the build finally succeeded. I have no idea how to prevent this from being an issue in the future, but I suspect you might.
Now, I just have to figure out how to run it in the iPhone 5 simulator.... :@(
smart BASIC Rocks!
- Scott : San Diego, California
- Scott : San Diego, California
- sarossell
- Posts: 195
- Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:31 pm
- My devices: iPad Mini 2, iPhone 5, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
- Flag:
- Contact:
Re: I'm stumped.
Also, apparently the AppIcon asset needs to be updated with an image for iOS 9 and above.
- Attachments
-
- icon.png (230.66 KiB) Viewed 4629 times
smart BASIC Rocks!
- Scott : San Diego, California
- Scott : San Diego, California
- Mr. Kibernetik
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4786
- Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
- My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
- Location: Russia
- Flag:
Re: I'm stumped.
Thank you for this information.
I am using older version of macOS and Xcode 7, so everything is simpler
I updated SDK, please try it.
I am using older version of macOS and Xcode 7, so everything is simpler
I updated SDK, please try it.
- sarossell
- Posts: 195
- Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:31 pm
- My devices: iPad Mini 2, iPhone 5, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
- Flag:
- Contact:
Re: I'm stumped.
Success! The updated SDK worked a treat after accepting some automatic parameter change suggestions (apparently Xcode 8 does not support development for anything older than iOS 8). Build functioned without any problems and zero errors. The iPhone 5 simulator runs like a cheeseburger-fed American on my five year old MacBook Air, but the compiled app was responsive and functional.
Well done! smart BASIC is amazing.
Well done! smart BASIC is amazing.
- Attachments
-
- success.png (432.29 KiB) Viewed 4618 times
smart BASIC Rocks!
- Scott : San Diego, California
- Scott : San Diego, California
- Mr. Kibernetik
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4786
- Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
- My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
- Location: Russia
- Flag:
Re: I'm stumped.
Thank you very much for your feedback!