GPS via WiFi

Post Reply
User avatar
Dutchman
Posts: 851
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 9:21 am
My devices: iMac, iPad Air, iPhone
Location: Netherlands
Flag: Netherlands

GPS via WiFi

Post by Dutchman »

I experimented with GPS-functions again and again, but got frustrating results.
GPS-data was not updated while moving and GPS_COUNT() did not respond as expected.
In most cases the result for x,y,z was -1,-1,-1
It was a serious problem until I found the following text on internet:
The Wi-Fi model of the iPad does not have an Assisted-GPS chip, but it can locate the user by using Wi-Fi triangulation.
This isn't quite as accurate as Assisted-GPS, but it is fairly accurate.
Then it was clear that changes can not be expected with small movements in your room.
As a consequence I made a subroutine and a function to obtain reliable GPS-data.

The rest of this post has been removed. It is updated by the post "Update GPS via WiFi" on viewtopic.php?f=4&t=409
Last edited by Dutchman on Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:22 pm, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
Dutchman
Posts: 851
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 9:21 am
My devices: iMac, iPad Air, iPhone
Location: Netherlands
Flag: Netherlands

Re: GPS via WiFi

Post by Dutchman »

I added the following text also to the manual:
The Wi-Fi model of the iPad does not have an Assisted-GPS chip, but it can locate the user by using Wi-Fi triangulation.
This isn't quite as accurate as Assisted-GPS, but it is fairly accurate.

User avatar
Mr. Kibernetik
Site Admin
Posts: 4786
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
Location: Russia
Flag: Russia

Re: GPS via WiFi

Post by Mr. Kibernetik »

Yes, without built-in GPS you will need some kind of connection (cellular or wifi) to get location information.

User avatar
Dutchman
Posts: 851
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 9:21 am
My devices: iMac, iPad Air, iPhone
Location: Netherlands
Flag: Netherlands

Re: GPS via WiFi

Post by Dutchman »

Your remark
Yes, without built-in GPS you will need some kind of connection (cellular or wifi) to get location information.
triggered me to add a Time-check with a break.
Otherwise the program runs an endless loop if no GPS-signal is available. ;)
The code and files in the first post are updated.
The timing results are more or less the same.

User avatar
Mr. Kibernetik
Site Admin
Posts: 4786
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
My devices: iPhone, iPad, MacBook
Location: Russia
Flag: Russia

Re: GPS via WiFi

Post by Mr. Kibernetik »

So, what do you think about precision of wifi-detected location?

Just a note:
function can be called in three ways:
CALL Home
Home()
Home

Dalede
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:00 pm
Location: Grass Valley, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: GPS via WiFi

Post by Dalede »

It is not at all precise. I use a Bluetooth GPS for accurate data. GPS locations are collected and available on a web site for use in finding locations. I will look it up and post it.

Dale

Dalede
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:00 pm
Location: Grass Valley, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: GPS via WiFi

Post by Dalede »

Check Skyhookwireless for a service that provide locations via router locations. It has evolved since I first became involved with it. Originally for home locations you had to supply them with your router location but today they collect data about querys and figure it out most of the time depending where you live. There are still home locations that they don't know about but you can likely still update their information using certain downloadable tools. Wikipedia has articles on this. Google also collects wifi locations when they do their drive by mapping. They do attempt to triangulate from known sources of information that comes from a variety of sources but this only provides location based services and not specific location. That is if you move around it is not shown since only the router location is computed.

Dale

Post Reply